NaNoWriMo is coming!

National Novel Writing Month is almost upon us and I’m afraid I haven’t given much thought to preparation. Last year, I had already had the idea of Bastion incubating on the back shelf for several months before I discovered NaNoWriMo. I’ve spent the following year working on editing, rewrites and cultivating this new blog space. While the blog has allowed me to stretch my legs with more variety of projects rather than dedicating myself to one big one like Reich Bride for a long period of time. I know I really need to buckle down and focus on one project for at least the month of November.

Unfortunately, I still have a multitude of ideas in my head. I also can’t let Scenes from Prohibition sleep for a month. I’ll end up including blog writing with my final word count, but that also means I will have a chunk of unfinished project. Of course, I added another 11,000 words to Bastion after November, so addition is expected during refinement, but I had the bulk of the project done during the month. I don’t want to end up with something half finished.

I have an idea for Alaska, but I’m afraid it will take a lot of research beforehand and as I said I have not been preparing for NaNoWriMo. The idea also might be a bit too similar to Bastion. I should maybe not do two cannibal books in a row. I’ve also been considering a straight up horror story, since B-movie hijinks are sort of a blast to write even if it feels odd to spend all day thinking up weird ways to kill off your characters. The last idea I had was to drop all the horror and focus on the romance in a romantic comedy which would require virtually no research. Well, a girls night or two would count as research. Don’t forget the wine!

One thought on “NaNoWriMo is coming!

Leave a Reply

