Comparing notes

As soon as Micky O. was out the door, Delphia put on her hat and locked up. She rushed out to catch the trolley towards Moira’s apartment. She leapt off the car and trotted to Moira’s. By the time she had climbed the stairs and reached Moira’s door she was out of breath. The dancer snapped the door open while she was still knocking.

“It’s about time!” she exclaimed and pulled her in. Delphia collapsed at the table. Moira brought her a glass of water.

“How did you know?” Delphia croaked before she took a sip. Moira’s face flushed.

“I was with Frank…I mean, Mr. Sicero at the Cabaret when Cylus burst in. He said the Farm was raided and they got Micky! What are you going to do?” She put a consoling hand over Delphia’s. The waitress started to laugh and choked on her water. It was a few minutes of coughing before she could get a word out.

“I don’t have to worry about anything,” she said. “They don’t have Micky. I do.” Moira’s jaw dropped.

“You do?”

Delphia nodded. “He managed to escape and showed up at my apartment in the middle of the night.”

“Does Fr- Mr. Sicero know?” Moira asked.

“Of course. Micky called him last night and sent a car for him this morning.”

“But what does this mean?”

“I don’t know, but I guess I’ll see plenty of Micky now.” Delphia rested on her elbows.

“I suppose he does own the apartment and has no where else to go, at least that we know of,” Moira said thoughtfully, “How do you feel about that?” Delphia thought about it. She felt her pulse quicken at the thought, but her mind harked back to Moira’s rules about picket fences.

“Happy,” she finally said, then added, “Worried.”

“Worried? About what?”

“Perhaps he won’t like me as much when I’m around all the time. Don’t they say that distance makes the heart grow fonder?” Delphia traced her finger along the table top.

“From what you’ve told me, he’s wild about you. I’m sorry, I don’t understand it. Johnnies never stay interested that long or vice versa, at least for me. Maybe it is the distance or maybe love does exist.” Moira shrugged and got up from the table. She went to the window and looked out. “All I know is we come into each other’s lives and we never know how long we’re going to stay. You might as well enjoy someone while you can. Enough of this worrying, Delphia. When you go home you grab that man and you kiss him in a way that he’ll always remember it. Even if he ends up hurting you, leaving you, at least he’ll never forget you.”

Delphia knew she was right. Worrying wasn’t going to do her any good, but Moira’s mood was strange. She was never this philosophical, so deep. Delphia wondered who it was that had made Moira think that way. Was it a man that had broke her heart or another woman that had looked out for Moira as Moira did for Delphia. She thought it was better to change the subject. She would handle her fears about Micky alone.

“When were you going to tell me about Mr. Sicero?” she asked. Moira laughed as she leaned on the window. She turned around with her dazzling smile on again.

“Well…there isn’t too much to tell right now.” Moira came back to the table and sat down. “I’ve met with him a couple times, but nothing has happened.”

“Are you hopeful for that lead dancer spot still?”

“It’s too early to tell. I’m surprised they haven’t permanently filled it yet. Being in rotation is a drag. The girls are at each other’s throats every other week over artistic opinion. We barely manage to have productive rehearsals.”

“But you’re going to still try, right?”

“I have to play my cards right.”

Delphia lowered her voice. She was nervous about asking, but the curiosity was building since Moira had mentioned Sicero when she had arrived.

“And Cylus, does Mr. Sicero know about him? Are you going to keep that up?”

Moira stood up and paced the room. She sighed heavily.

“He doesn’t know about Cylus. I don’t know what grudge they have between them.” Delphia turned in her seat to watch her.

“Micky said they were old friends. Sicero told him to keep an eye on Cylus, but he reckons Cylus was meant to keep an eye on Micky just the same.”

“You know me. I don’t have any feelings for either. On one hand, Frank holds the key to my success. On the other, Cylus pays up front and always brings the liquor. It’s only a battle of short term or long term goals. Speaking of short term…” Moira went to a cabinet and pulled a bottle out. She grabbed two glasses and poured them each a drink.

“It’s not even noon yet, Moira.” The dancer laughed in reply.

“After the scare we had last night, I think we deserve it.” She giggled some more and accidentally splashed some on the table. She shoved a glass at Delphia and they clinked glasses. After a few sips, Delphia found another question on the tip of her tongue.

“What ever happened to Bea?” she asked.

“She’s in New York as far as I know. It’s not like she dropped me a card and invited me to visit if I was ever in the area. She was a bitch,” Moira stared at the bottom of her drink. “Maybe I can get another detail or two out of Frank one of these times.” She lifted the bottle and made to refill Delphia’s glass.

“No, you’re going to need to make that last since the Farm is gone. I should get to the market anyway. I don’t mind eating eggs and ham all the time, but Micky might.” She pushed out her chair and got to her feet. Moira pursed her lips in thought, then put the cork back in the bottle and pushed it away. She got up and followed Delphia to the door.

“Remember what I said about worrying,” Moira said before she shut the door. Delphia made her way back down to the street and hoped that maybe she could just be happy.

Leave a Reply

