Sleeping alone (with cat)

The past week or so has been focused on developing new routines around self-care. One of my main issues had been getting good sleep. At the beginning of my transition, it wasn’t too difficult to suddenly sleep through the night while alone (well…with cat). I think I was too exhausted and stressed at that point to do anything else. Now I’ve been through almost a full schedule rotation at work on my own (ahem…with cat) and have been trying to upgrade bedding and sleeping conditions along the way.

After I worked all last weekend, Bukowski surprisingly let me sleep in as long as I wanted. Typically, I would be lying awake between 3-6am, now I was sleeping through and the cat too! Back to work on Wednesday and Thursday and I think Bukowski spent his days alone sleeping. By bedtime he would decide he needed to make a mad dash around the house. Eventually he’d settle down and the next thing I knew the alarm was going off at 4:50. We’d pop out of bed to start our day.

This morning I had no alarm set and had intended to sleep until I woke naturally. Instead I got a very gentle wake up call in the dark from Bukowski. He pawed at my arms and mewed quietly. I turned over and looked at the clock. 4:58. This is Bukowski’s most accurate wake up call to date. Now if only I could teach him my weird rotating work schedule, I wouldn’t need an alarm clock. After some protests, he finally left me alone and we went back to sleep.

Most of the nights alone (…with cat) I’ve been able to sleep through the night. However, when I do wake up it seems that I have rolled off the hump in the middle of the bed into one of the grooves. A memory foam mattress topper did not fix this problem. I plan to go out and look at new mattresses today.

Earlier this week, I was feeling cheap and didn’t want to go through the trouble of getting a new one, but thankfully I have that friend that likes to point out how gross old mattresses can be. Now that I’ve spent several nights since that conversation rolling into old divots on my mattress I’m giving in. I will spend the money and get a new mattress. I will fight with getting the old one down the narrow staircase and figure out how to get rid of it.

It’s all in the name of self-care now, isn’t it.

One thought on “Sleeping alone (with cat)

Leave a Reply

