Sam and Mona

Sam tossed his suit coat on the chair and collapsed on the hotel bed with a sigh. Mona sat on the edge of the mattress and freed her feet from her painful stilettos. Her long skirt still draped off the bed as she leaned back and curled up in the crook of Sam’s arm. He turned towards her and looked down into her eyes. With his other hand, he tucked a lock of hair behind her ear.

He sighed.

“I should have never have let you leave London.”

Mona’s fingers made their way to Sam’s cheek and grazed his beard.

“That was years ago. I wasn’t able to love anyone then.”

His hand found hers and pulled it away from his face. She met his gaze.

“And now?” he asked. Her eyes dropped, hidden beneath her dark lashes.

“Sam…” she began hesitantly. “London was only a few days. How do you know? What makes you so sure about me?”

“Because,” Sam held her hand to his chest. “I can feel it.” He paused to let the words sink in. Mona remained still, her eyes downcast.

“Do you know how many times I’ve thought about you over the years?” Sam continued, “Probably millions. Haven’t you?”

“Yes, but Sam…I can’t make any promises beyond tonight.”

“That’s all? One night?” Sam leaned back and stared at the ceiling.

“I don’t know love…or what it’s supposed to feel like. I can’t tell. But I know tonight will make a good memory. Tomorrow and everyday after that I would be wondering if it was real or if I was just pretending,” Mona explained. “And that’s not really fair to you, is it?”

“Oh, I see, you’re concerned with my welfare,” Sam replied sarcastically.

“Sam…” Mona sat up. “I’m trying to be honest with you.” Sam stared at the ceiling. Mona scooted away from him.

“I’ll go. This was stupid. I should’ve gone to my own hotel,” she said.

Sam sat up and wrapped his arms around Mona before she could swing her legs off the edge of the bed.

“I still have one night,” he said. “One night to change your mind.”

“Fine, if you think you can,” she said coolly, but inside she felt a shudder. Or was it a flutter? The heat and strength of the arms around her melted the tension that she carried. She softened as they fell back on the bed and she was enveloped in a feeling. A warm one she couldn’t quite name.

 

Leave a Reply

