Dream diary: The swimmer

My dream last night started after I had won a swimming race at a state/national event and I would continue on to represent my state/country at the next level. I don’t remember what level exactly, but the pool was in a very large stadium. I also don’t remember the race, just getting out of the pool. I was wearing one of those swimming suits that go down to your knees. The really weird thing is that I am a pretty bad swimmer and there is no way in hell I would ever win a race.

As I climbed out of the pool, my teammates and coach are congratulating me. The crowds in the stands were cheering. My coach says he’ll take care of things at the pool. I should go back to the hotel and get some rest. I remember he hung some sort of badge on a lanyard around my neck.

I leave with a group of people. I know we’re on a city street at night and we are going to celebrate my victory at a popular rooftop club. One of my friends tells me that this guy, Kennedy, is at the club already. We head inside to the elevator and the door guy asks to see our IDs. I hand him my driver’s license and he stops me. He points out that the card has a little red stamp on it. I can’t remember what it meant, but I assured him that it was my card and I was old enough to be at the club.

There is a distraction and at times the point of view changes to looking down on the roof top from the sky. Supposedly Kennedy is getting tossed out of the club. Bouncers bring him down the elevator and I notice that he’s hurt, something with his feet and well, he’s drunk too. The bouncers are just going to deposit him on the sidewalk and leave him. I tell my friends to go ahead. I’ll help Kennedy back to the hotel and I try to lift his arm over my shoulder. Then I woke up.

 

2 thoughts on “Dream diary: The swimmer

Leave a Reply

